Staff and vestry

St. Martha’s, with the support of the Episcopal Diocese of Delaware, is currently in a search for a new rector. More information will be shared here as it becomes available.

Our interim rector


The Rev. David Beresford

Father David Beresford came to St. Martha’s in August 2020. He was previously Interim Rector at St. Barnabas and before that, he was Rector of the Church of the Redeemer, Springfield, Pa. He has also served in the Church of England as Priest-in-Charge of Holy Cross, Luton, England. He trained at the College of the Resurrection, Mirfield, West Yorkshire and in 2009 graduated with a BA (Hons) in Theology and Pastoral Studies from the University of Leeds. In 2012 he received a post-graduate diploma in Ministry and Mission from the University of Chichester. Ordained in 2009, he served in parishes in England before moving to the United States at the end of 2015. Prior to entering seminary he worked for the Bank of Scotland.

Father David trained as a spiritual director in England and gave direction to many candidates for ordination. He is also a retreat leader – the most recent a three-day retreat (led jointly with his wife, Ruth) on the Episcopal Church’s Way of Love. He has created a series of training courses on living the Christian life (Knowing God) and how our faith can engage with the arts (Faith and Poetry; Art and Faith). He is an Associate of the Community of the Servants of the Will of God, (CSWG), an Anglican monastic order.

Father David lives in Wilmington with his wife Ruth, who is also a priest. He has two grown children, Thomas and Julian, who live in England and two stepchildren, Matt and Sarah. For relaxation he enjoys music, reading, walking, golf, conversation, and friendship.

St. Martha’s staff

David Kemper, Director of Music

Dave grew up in Pennsylvania where he spent 30 years in public education. He retired to Rehoboth Beach in 2012 and came to St. Martha’s late that year. Dave directs the Adult Choir, the Handbell Choir, serves as organist, and arranges occasional concerts.

He serves on the American Guild of Organists board, as sectional and outreach accompanist for the Camp Rehoboth Chorus, and continues to provide accompaniment and musical direction for local theater productions.

He’s at St. Martha’s on Wednesdays and Sundays. He can be reached by email.

Jaclyn Hickman, Administrative Assistant

Jaclyn was born and raised in Wilmington, Delaware.   Her parents have had a beach home in Bethany Beach since the mid 80’s, so she spent most summers of her youth at the beach.   She has been a full-time resident of Sussex County since 2003.

Jaclyn is a graduate of University of Delaware and Wilmington University.   Prior to working at St. Martha’s, she spent almost 17 years in banking.    She currently lives in Ocean View with her husband, Mark, two daughters and rescue dog.

You can find her on the beach with family and friends almost any weekend when it’s warm enough.   If she is not spending free time with family and friends, she is either walking her dog, doing yoga or reading.

You can reach Jaclyn at

St. Martha’s wardens and vestry

The vestry is the legal representative of the parish with regard to all matters pertaining to its corporate property. Vestry members are elected at the annual parish meeting. The presiding officer of the vestry is the rector. The senior warden leads the parish between rectors and is a support person for the rector. The junior warden has responsibility for church property and buildings.

Senior Warden
Ron Kerchner, 2021

Junior Warden
Bill Freund, 2022

John Short, 2023

Don Boebel, 2022

Bob Cardoni, 2021

Mary Davis, 2023

Rick Legeer, 2021

Carl Long, 2023

Mary Thompson, 2023